I want to run away from your memories

Posted: March 3, 2011 in love, poetry
Tags: ,

I want to run away
run away to a distant place
far away from your haunting memories
so far away, your surreal smile gets blurred
and your broken promises are never heard
the spell you cast on me is broken
and my life is returned back intact,
    normalcy restored,
untangling my soul from your thoughts
our destinies intertwined no more
for me to see my future
    without your whispering words in my ears,
    humming subliminal poetry to my heart that is unrelenting,
    unwilling to let go of your thoughts

the distant dance of your flowing movements
– ripples of a skimming stone in a still lake,
your recurring thoughts shaping immutable memories,
making me servile to the sweetness of past
a past, that was nothing more than a dream;
a dream, your soft hands and nimble fingers wove
with the silk of your elegant thoughts,
the perfect butterfly net that fished my soul
and locked it away for eternity to come.

I want to run away from that dream
into dark corners of the universe
where no memories are ever welcomed,
    no heart is ever broken, and no face is ever seen
    no voice ever heard, and no feelings ever hurt
to that desolate place I want to escape
a place from where there is no return, nor release
a place so unbearably cold all my nerves would go numb
and erase you from my memories forever.

Comments
  1. Jingle says:

    keep running…
    A++

    welcome and have fun..

    have fun, support by visiting a dozen entries starting from the latest one, go backwards, 226, 225, 224, ….217..

    your input is appreciated.

  2. Wordywoman says:

    Love this especially “the distant dance of your flowing movements
    – ripples of a skimming stone in a still lake.”

  3. Lydia says:

    Wow, very powerful. I am especially attracted to these lines:

    I want to run away from that dream
    into dark corners of the universe
    where no memories are ever welcomed,
    no heart is ever broken, and no face is ever seen
    no voice ever heard, and no feelings ever hurt

  4. gomagoti says:

    oh this was lovely,although i have to say,that if this is you,i feel sorry for you.

  5. fiveloaf says:

    all that running might leave no room for rest haha.. just maybe my potluck might distract your attention for awhile.. – http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2011/03/08/nectar-from-heaven/

  6. Greetings!

    Thanks for the lovely contribution to potluck on week 25,

    week 26 is open NOW, we treasury your poetry

    And hope to see you in shortly…old poems are welcome!

    xoxox

  7. keep it up.

    Welcome joining poets rally week 40,
    all submissions will be fully represented by the end of the week,
    visit me for details today.. hope to see you in..

    Cheers.
    Happy Writing..
    xx

  8. Anonymous says:

    loved it……

What do you think?

